rush.in.concert

One time in high school, I got in big trouble for NOT using my lunch money to buy lunch at school. Instead, I skipped lunch and saved the money for a couple of weeks (back in my day school lunches where much cheaper than they are these days) and used it to buy my very first RUSH album, Moving Pictures.

I took the bait – hook, line and sinker and they’ve been my favorite band every since that day! I’ve seen them in concert several times and have every studio album they’ve ever released!

For my birthday this year, my wife and kids got me tickets and this past Sunday I got to take my oldest son, Kyle, to see them in concert with me at the US Airways Center for the Phoenix, AZ stop on their Clockwork Angels tour…and BONUS, they were recording this show for a DVD release!

It was another great show by the trio from Canada, they even had a string section on stage with them for most of their second set and it worked really, really well.

Neil Peart (the best drummer in the world, truth!)

If you’re a Rush fan, and they haven’t already made their tour stop in your area, buy your ticket and see them, you’ll be so glad you did! And to entice you, here’s their setlist:

Set One

1. Subdivisions
2. The Big Money
3. Force Ten
4. Grand Designs
5. Middletown Dreams
6. Territories
7. The Analog Kid
8. The Pass
9. Where’s My Thing? (short drum solo A)
10. Far Cry

Set Two
with the Clockwork Angels String Ensemble

11. Caravan
12. Clockwork Angels
13. The Anarchist
14. Carnies
15. The Wreckers
16. Headlong Flight (short drum solo B)
17. Halo Effect (with guitar solo intro)
18. Wish Them Well
19. The Garden
20. Manhattan Project
21. Drum Solo (The Percussor)
22. Red Sector A
23. YYZ
24. The Spirit of Radio (without strings)

Encore

25. Tom Sawyer
26. 2112 Part I: Overture
27. 2112 Part II: The Temples of Syrinx
28. 2112 Part VII: Grand Finale

Leave a Reply

