needing.a.backup.acoustic

I’m in need of a backup acoustic guitar. This new church isn’t really the best fit for me on electric guitar. I’m finding myself on acoustic more and it seems like that’s where I’m going to be for the most part. I only have one acoustic (a Taylor, and yes I love it), and at some point in the near future, I’m gonna pop a string…probably on the opening song of the set, and I’ve got no acoustic guitar to fall back on.

I don’t really have any extra cash laying around at all, so I’m looking for something really inexpensive. This past week, I stumbled upon a small music store (I’ve never seen before)  just around the corner from my house. I stopped in and played an Epiphone EJ 200, that I got very excited about, because it was only $375, but it played like a much nicer instrument. Very nice action, full tone, and beautiful, here’s a picture of it…

…I was beginning to think that God had dropped this amazing little guitar right in my lap. Then I realized it had no electronics, which means I can’t use it. Bummer! 😦

Today my son, Kyle, needed a couple pairs of drum sticks, so we dropped back by this little music store. I once again played that guitar, talked to the owner about putting in a pickup. He quoted me some prices – and it put me out of my price range. So I asked him what was the best deal we could work out, but he had no interest at all in playing that game. So, I walked out of the store leaving that amazing find of a guitar behind.

One thought on “needing.a.backup.acoustic

  1. Lee Gunter

    John, I got my Dean Performer E for about $300 a few years ago. I got it at the advise of the guitar repair guy at an Indies store I love up here. He recommended it over stuff twice the price. It’s served me well. Fully loaded electronics wise, including built in tuner, EQ and D box. But don’t buy Dean’s case for it. Poor fit. Get a Gatorade case instead… cheaper AND better. I think it was the dreadnaught size.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

