running.the.race.to.worship

guitar volume

passion | freedom | encounter

You’ll no doubt read about these three words a lot on this blog, they are the driving force of my life. I have been praying lately, and specifically today the entire church staff prayed this for me, for more passion and freedom to express that passion as I lead worship at my church.

I’ve talked to my team a lot about being passionate, freely expressing our worship so that we can create an atmosphere where people can have an encounter with God. Sometimes I feel like I’m not quite there as a leader and I want to make sure that I’m doing all that I can to lead this charge on a regular basis.

Recently I was reading in 1 Corinthians and came across this passage that is not really dealing with worship, but for me it just screamed this is what I need to do to take my worship leading to the next level.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 (The Message)

(24) You’ve all been to the stadium and seen the athletes race. Everyone runs; one wins. Run to win. (25) All good athletes train hard. They do it for a gold medal that tarnishes and fades. You’re after one that’s gold eternally. (26) I don’t know about you, but I’m running hard for the finish line. I’m giving it everything I’ve got. No sloppy living for me! (27) I’m staying alert and in top condition. I’m not going to get caught napping, telling everyone else all about it and then missing out myself.

Paul is challenging us in this passage to be like the best athletes when it comes to what we are doing in life, our passions. This scripture is challenging me to start thinking of leading worship in a new light. To lead to win, train hard (ummm can you say practice?), give everything I’ve got, don’t be lazy!

I’m hoping, planning, and praying that I can achieve what I’m saying here, that I can indeed lead to win, be passionate, leave nothing untapped, give all that I have inside of me to lead others into His presence—to a genuine encounter with the Amazing Living God!

So if you see me leading worship and it seems like I’m just going through the motions, not really giving all that I can, I give you permission to flat out CALL ME ON IT! Hold me accountable. Challenge me to be all that God wants me to be, ‘cause that’s what I want—to be all He wants me to be and nothing less!

Leave a Reply

